Words Can Hurt or Heal…Words are Powerful

Today I want to talk to you about the power of people’s words and the power of God’s word. People’s words come from family, friends, coworkers, the church, friends, etc. Words carry a lot of power. For instance, If you tell me that you are glad that I am your neighbor, I may feel appreciated and valued. If you tell me that I am the worst neighbor ever, then I may feel hurt, sad, lonely and unfairly judged. Those words we speak to others, our family, or friends have the power to crush or build up. The old saying, “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me.” is completely false. This first was published in 1862 in The African Methodist Episcopal Church. What kind of wisdom is that? This is the advice that children are given when they are bullied. That just puts them under assault all over again. I wonder what the bible has to say about the power of words.

Proverbs 11:9 “Evil words destroy one’s friends; wise discernment rescues the godly.”

Proverbs 11:12 “It is foolish to belittle a neighbor; a person with good sense remains silent.”

Proverbs 11:17 “Your own soul is nourished when you are kind, but you destroy yourself when you are cruel.”

Proverbs 15: 1 “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but hard words stir up anger.”

Proverbs 15:4 “Gentle words bring life and health; a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.”

Proverbs 16:24 “Kind words are like honey–sweet to the soul and healthy for the body.”

Proverbs 18:4 “A person’s words can be life-giving water; words of true wisdom are as refreshing as a bubbling brook.”

Proverbs 18:20 “Words satisfy the soul as food satisfies the stomach; the right words on a person’s lips bring satisfaction.”

Proverbs 20:15 “Wise speech is rarer and more valuable than gold and rubies.”

Proverbs 25:18 “Telling lies about others is as harmful as hitting them with an ax, wounding them with a sword, or shooting them with a sharp arrow.”

(These verses were compiled by:  https://snailpacetransformations.com/10-bible-verses-on-the-power-of-our-words/

These verses tell an opposite story. Remember that there are only two narratives in this world: God’s Word and satan’s counterfeit words. We need to be able to recognize the difference. The only way I know to discern the good from the bad is to read the bible and stay in it everyday. Drink it up like sweet medicine. This is the last thing some believers will do. At one time I was one of those people. But no more. God showed me in no uncertain terms that the Word was not optional if I was going to have a good, loving life: an overcoming life.

I was raised by people who had no regard for the words they spoke and, yes, our spirits were broken and bruised. Since that was our family pattern, I copied it. The damage my words did cannot be underestimated. But when God showed me that His word and that all of His promises bring life and love, I couldn’t get enough of His word. God’s Words build up and edifies the hearer. What a blessing to receive this potent instruction. There isn’t enough room in a blog post to tell all of the goodness that He has poured into my life and those around me because I took up the Word. Talk about transformation.

So this is the first installment about inviting the bible to inform your identity, character, and relationships. Review the verses above. Let them roll about in your spirit. Let them sink in and find a home in your heart The difference between people words and God’s word is that God’s word is alive.

Hebrews 4:12, NIV: “For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

The Word does its own work. Once you get it into your spirit, you just believe Him and get ready to receive. Before I can change my words, I have to have His word inside my heart. There is no other option here. If you want change in your life and your relationships, you must have the Word. My personal opinion is that church people who do not read the word are sometimes as scary as the unsaved. I have seen this too many times and now I understand. I have also known of a few bible scholars who were wretched in soul. You can know the bible and without the Holy Spirit, it never changes you.

It’s pretty hard to have a connection with words if you don’t ever look in those special one’s faces. Since dinnertime is eaten often in front of the television or facing the back of someone’s head in the car, I’d like you to reconsider the dinner table. That is the one place where we are all facing one another. Words have more impact when they are spoken face to face rather than the side of someone’s head or the back of it. Food has gotten so peculiar that everyone is eating something different at the same meal. That’s just silly. Find the two or three things everyone will eat and make that. Who cares if you don’t serve something different everyday. The important thing is to get around the table and talk sweetly sharing while you have your peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, hamburgers and fries, roast and mashed potatoes, the occasional pizza, and add a salad. This is not hard and I wouldn’t want it to be. Keep it simple and enjoy your posse. The dinner table is a great place to speak your loving words. Here are some of our favorites:

Ingredients can be bought fully prepared and simply put together: frozen meatballs, jar marinara, and cooked pasta. Boom!

Fried Chicken fingers and fries, yes!

Looks good enough for dinner!

Crock pot roast dinner

Put it together in the ceramic liner the night before, place in refrigerator, and in the morning, put it in the crock pot cooker. When you get home, your family will run to the table!

I just want to see you and your family begin to build happy, memorable times together. Build each other up, compliment each other, tell them how proud you are of them, and tell them how much you love them.

 

All images were taken from Google images. No sponsored content.

 

 

Leave a comment