Travel Savvy

I have a friend who is travelling to Wales in a few months. She wanted some sound packing advice.  These ideas will give her the inspiration she needs…

First, what you wear to the airport, especially for the long flight, really matters.

Image

Carry the right carry on bag. If you get ambitious, you can pack all your belongings for the whole trip. Slip on shoes are a must. a soft wrap (rather than the used ones on the plane), and an inflatable pillow make thre trip easy and comfortable. Get the pillow here: http://www1.macys.com/shop/product/concierge-inflatable-travel-pillow?ID=298214&cm_mmc=Google_Seasonal_pla-_-FOB+PLA_Luggage-_-17458577435_Exact-_-mkwid_5lXHQV0w&gclid=CKm6kYGe6LQCFQioPAod0iAApQ

This group not only is perfect for mixing and matching on a trip but could serve as the foundation of a basic wardrobe.

Image

How many outfits you can make from this collection? Before you pack, why not put the outfits together on you bed, photograph them with you phone, and then, when you are ready to dress on the trip, check your phone for the prestyled selection you’ll wear.

travel 3

Who knows how to pack better than a flight attendant? All items listed below.

This is what she packs:

  • Three pairs of shorts
  • Three pairs of dress pants
  • One skirt
  • Three pairs of casual pants or jeans
  • Three nightgowns
  • Three bathing suits
  • One sarong
  • Three lightweight sweaters
  • Four dresses
  • 10 casual shirts
  • Six dress shirts
  • A clutch
  • Toiletries
  • Two pairs of shoes

She’ll wear the third pair of shoes, as well as jeans and a longer sweater.

Personally, I wouldn’t bring nightgowns, shorts or bathing suits, or as many casual shirts, but I’ll post my list and justifications for my lifestyle before Europe.

This is the way she manages to pack her suitcase carefully:

  • Roll up all of your clothing tightly and set it aside
  • Shoes should be packed around the sides
  • Softer clothing that is rolled up, goes on top
  • Harder clothing rolled up, is stacked on the bottom
  • Toiletries on top
  • Anything that is wrinkle-resistant can go around the edges

( text written by http://www.everydayminimalist.com/?p=2286)

Solve laundry concerns here:

This is a really cool app for finding fun places to visit whatever your location:

travel 5

Finally, packing and wearing the right shoes can make all the difference when touring on foot.

travel 6

Absoultely Prehistoric travel footwear

travel 7

Click this link for some very stylish travel shoes…

Travelsmith has the most awesome collection of travel shoes in lots of styles. Go see…

travel 8

These look like Tom’s but probably wear much more gently for walking and touring.

There you have it. These ideas will give you a good start for efficient, necessary, and chic travel packing.

Bon Voyage!

(for sources ,click the image)

8 thoughts on “Travel Savvy

  1. I’m not sure if this applies but when I was planning to move to Russia I had a problem. I’d pack and find myself not having enough room. I’d repack and have similar results. Then I came up with an idea, not sure it’s original but it worked great. Instead of just folding and packing, I’d fold then roll each item. I was able to almost double what I could carry. My other concern was when I went to pull the rubber bands off would the clothes be wrinkled? To my surprise not at all. So if anyone needs to pack for extended stay trips give it a try. One great thing was I was able to move to a smaller bag which could be a carry on. The less luggage the better. Right!

      • Yes, it was easy. It took me a while to find the simplest folding method but once I did and then rolled it went into the suitcase like a charm. Kinda like a puzzle. I’d look at the suitcase, the size of my clothes, lengths and such. Then organized like so to take advantage of any holes or misused space.

Leave a Reply

